1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

KS3 Textiles, so many questions - please HELP!!!!

Discussion in 'Design and technology' started by yvonnemansell, May 8, 2011.

1. Hi
    I am a Food/Catering teacher and have been asked to start teaching Textiles next year to all of KS3. I have no experience of teaching Technology textiles, my only experience of Textiles is Art based. I have so many questions - I dont't know where to start. It has been suggested that we would be able to purchase 5 sewing machines. Would this be managable to teach classes of 22 with? Do you have any advice for how best to set this up as a department and run successfully? As textiles has never been taught before I want to start with one porject that can be taught to all year groups and then each year introduce a new one so no pupil is repeating themselves. Do you have any ideas for could be taught taking into account my experience and allowing pupils to be able to access a wide range of levels? How much is the average textile budget? What would be the most important purchases for the first year? Which fabric would be the best and most cost effective to use? What methods of assessment do you use? Do pupils have to make a final product that has a function, can they do a sampling project or produce a stuffed creature/animal? What tips do you have for the general teaching and management of the subject? What do you see are the pitfalls?
    Finally does anyone have any resources they would be willing to share with me?
    Thank you in advance for any help and advice you can give me.
    If you want to PM me my email is: ymansell@copley.tameside.sch.uk

2. finamar

finamar New commenter

There are lots of resources on this site as well!