1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

KS2 SATs marking - pay....or lack thereof

Discussion in 'Assessment' started by amethyst303, Jun 20, 2018.

1. amethyst303

amethyst303 New commenter

I've just been paid for my first ever round of SATs marking and won't be doing it again. I worked out that I earned just under £5 per hour. Even though I finished just over 98% of my allocation, the final salary was certainly nowhere near 98% of the amount stated on my contract; in fact it was just under 80%. For the hours I put in - and I'm not shy of hard work (I'm a teacher after all!) - I was actually waking up in the morning not wanting to do it, as I knew I had a full ten hours ahead of me before sinking into a hot bath to get rid of the stiffness of sitting in one position for most of the day. It states in the Marker Hub recommendations: 'Do not mark when tired'..... seriously? Lord knows how full-time teachers manage! I most sincerely take my hat off to them. I really do.