1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

KS2 Phonics: What is it?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by magictractor, May 7, 2012.

1. magictractor

magictractor New commenter

Hi, I'm in my final year of teacher training and I'm researching "why we need to teach KS2 phonics" but my first issue is what is it????

Support for Spelling suggests that it looks at grammar and spelling.
    Other sites suggest it is used to catch up children with their phonics awareness
    Other sites imply it should only be used as an intervention for children who are working at KS1 levels.

ANY help would be greatly appreciated!!!
    Amy

2. magictractor

Hi, I'm in my final year of teacher training and I'm researching "why we need to teach KS2 phonics" but my first issue is what is it????

Support for Spelling suggests that it looks at grammar and spelling.
    Other sites suggest it is used to catch up children with their phonics awareness
    Other sites imply it should only be used as an intervention for children who are working at KS1 levels.

ANY help would be greatly appreciated!!!
    Amy

3. Even synthetic phonics proponents have different views on this.
    For me, a continuation of phonics teaching is to embed a comprehensive alphabetic code (supported by a main visual aid of an Alphabetic Code Chart in every classroom - which, in effect, is a spelling reference chart).
    The embedding can be both for reading purposes (for weaker readers/intervention) and for spelling purposes for all the pupils.