1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

ks1 teaching ideas

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by brookes, May 11, 2008.

1. I appreciate this isn't exactly what you're after, but as a secondary teacher I find Nrich great for inspiration when I feel my lessons are getting a bit stale.

2. Colleen_Young

Colleen_Young Occasional commenter

3. KS 1 is the time to learn practical problem-solving with structured materials. This will help children to see solutions in their mind's eye before acting them out and to develop their concept of numbers.

Early numeracy is an example of the most basic concept fomation: Concept means 'taken together', e.g. bundle five and learn a word and a symbol for it. We soon learn to trust that 5 and 5 is ten without counting.

Teachers who rely heavily on rote-counting and ordering printed number symbols in the early years should not complain that children are at a loss later on when it comes to using/applying/problem-solving.

This is a serious gap which could be easily plugged if we offered more practical problem-solving and visual strategy games at KS 1. This research should be heeded in teacher training and national strategy development such as the Williams Review.

https://www.tes.co.uk/resources/Resource.aspx?resourceId=1...
    https://www.tes.co.uk/resources/Resource.aspx?resourceId=5...

4. Thanks for that info. Numeracy should be fun and practical, not boring rote-learning!

5. [​IMG]

6. mmmmmaths

mmmmmaths New commenter

Welcome to the Maths forum. Glad you found the advice useful; I take it you are a KS1 teacher. The thread was a very old one though from 2008 so some of the posters on it are no longer around.