1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

KS1 SATs preparation - help!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by tidgythumbs, Feb 18, 2010.

1. Hey everyone - especially experienced Year 2 teachers!
    I'm new to Year 2 and thought it was about time I got my head around this SATs business. After a bit of a bumpy start to the year with illness and just coming up to the halfway point in my 1st pregnancy I've not been quite as organised as I'd hoped to be.
    I've made a start by reading the 'Assessment and reporting arrangements 2010' booklet and I've had a skim through the teachers and task packs for English and Maths for 2009. I've also had a look at forums from previous years discussing various elements of KS1 SATs but I think I've overwhelmed and confused myself rather than getting an idea of what's involved.
    Please could anyone advise on where to go from here.
    What sort of timescale should I be looking at to start preparing the kids?
    When do schools usually administer the assessments?
    Should this effect my medium term planning from now?
    Is it too early to be stressing about it?
    Sorry for sounding overly dramatic, maybe it's just my hormones?!!?
    I'd really appreciate any help
    Thanks in advance

2. We do one run through ( just done ours!) before hand so children have seen a SATS paper!
    We don't do any other preparation, we usually administer the tests after the KS2 SATS - so end May, it doesn't affect our MTP ( except we have a week in May "booked" for SATS) we don't stress about it and neither do the children!
    SATS papers are only a VERY small part of your teacher assessment, which is really all you need to be worrying about!