1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

KS1 and lower advice

Discussion in 'Primary' started by HSanders2015, Aug 17, 2015.

1. Hello!

From September my school has put me in charge of CPD and staff training. We are a small international school in the Middle East and part of my remit is to provide mentoring for teachers by giving confidential, friendly and informal observations of lessons across the school.

I am a trained secondary teacher with almost 20 years of experience and feel quite happy to watch secondary lessons and perhaps suggest some areas for improvement. I have also worked in enough small schools to feel reasonably happy with top KS2.

However our school is opening a nursery this year and the SMG also want me to watch KS1 lessons and lower!

Does anyone have any advice, book recommendations, websites which would give me some ideas of what to look for when observing a 'good' lesson with children anywhere from 2-7 year old!

It would be great to have some ideas of current thinking and best practice to share with my collegues who teach these age groups.

Thank you very much!

Sandy

2. frustum

frustum Star commenter

Why not turn it around, and ask the teachers what they would like you to observe. They're the ones with the expertise in this age-group, and may not appreciate a secondary teacher who has read a few books/websites telling them what to do.

Perhaps give them the opportunity to say "I want to do X differently, but I'm not sure whether it will achieve what I want with these particular pupils. Please could you observe how they respond to the teaching." Then you'd really be working together to improve practice.

3. Kartoshka

Kartoshka Established commenter