1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

KS 1 & 2 non-fiction close reading, whole class, very mixed ability.

Discussion in 'Primary' started by kflynn59, Jan 9, 2020.

1. kflynn59

kflynn59 New commenter

Hi everyone. I am wondering if there is anyone out there with confidence in delivering non-fiction close reading lessons to years 2 or 3. I am a PPA cover teacher, across ks1 and ks2. I plan and prepare resources for a range of lessons for all years and subjects. However this one has me pretty perplexed. Last term I made lots of Viking themed reading resources, using texts from various sources and my own questions. I am proud of those resources to be honest. The lower ability readers went out with the TA however, to complete simpler tasks from a much-used educational resource site (decision of the class teacher). This term, all teachers in the school are to be observed doing close reading with the whole class. The reading levels range from very weak to very competent. Hence my dilemma. Thoughts please...? For non-fiction do most of you take a topic book as a starting point, use online resources or write your own texts? I think copying pages from a book could be breaking some copyright law? Is a half hour session about right (it is at the end of a day!)? I will be very grateful for any constructive advice.

2. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

What is 'Close reading' please?

TheOracleAtDelphi likes this.
  3. kflynn59

kflynn59 New commenter

It is a technique for looking at a piece of text very closely.

4. TheOracleAtDelphi

TheOracleAtDelphi Occasional commenter

I'm glad I wasn't the only one wondering that!

5. TheOracleAtDelphi