1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Knowing when to leave or stay

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by catdog74, Jun 7, 2011.

1. Hi, I am a new teacher, partway through a two and a half term contract on a year 5/6. Struggling in a big way as I think I am more suited to teaching the littlies. Every day is a challenge and I really struggle with behaviour mangement. Sometimes I go fine, and have had some great lessons, but the real issues always arise when my team- teacher isn't around and I am left with over 50 students ( both classes- we do a lot of team teaching), who obviously (well at least some of them, but it feels like most of them) have little respect for me. I did a lot of supply teaching on this class and the other team- teacher's class before begining this. I am sytruggling- it is my first contract and my first year and I think I might prefer to return to casual. I have considered doing something else entirely. The workload is enormous- I seem to spend evry night and most of the weekend working. I am tense all the time and have a lot of trouble sleeping as I feel so worried. I have an option to leave at the end of five weeks, but I am so unsure..should I try to stick it out and hope I grow into it, or accept that I don't like or suit this age group/school and leave while I can? I do feel bad for the school as it would mean more staffing changes if I did leave ( there have already been a few). The school has a lot of really challenging kids, which i find very difficult to manage. I do tend to take everything a bit too personally and am feeling quite shell-shocked at the huge workload that teachers have.. all this eats into any time I have with my family of three kids and we could surviv