1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Knowing what I can ask of a TA

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by atics, Jan 31, 2012.

1. Hi
    I am new to a school with lots of TAs; I haven't had much experience working with them in the past. For the record, almost all of the TAs who are in my lessons (secondary) are absolutely fantastic professionals who really advance the learning of students.
    I'm finding it difficult to know what to ask of the TAs in terms of the responsibility I can expect them to have.
    For example, I would like to ask some of my TAs if they have any advice about my teaching (with difficult classes, is there anything they have seen me do/say that is glaringly obvious to anyone but me that could help me improve what I'm doing) but I fear that is beyond the remit of the TA and puts them in a difficult position. But I would genuinely love to know what they think (am I too soft, am I too strict, do I create too much conflict, would there be a different style that would work better?).
    Another thing is directing them. I'm happy to 'tell them what to do using my professional judgement' but to be honest the TAs I work with are professionals who also are very skilled but can I expect them to make decisions about what is best for students? For example, is it reasonable to ask the TA if they think it would be better for them to stay in with the class, or take out a small group for a period of time? Or should I be making those decisions alone? I can make the decisions, don't get me wrong, but I'd rather have their take on it, especially as it's them who has to carry out the decisions.