1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Key Worker Time in the Nursery, Please Help

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by JAC29, Dec 14, 2011.

1. Hey,

I am new in the Nursery and am confused about Key Worker Groups. The children are now divided into groups and we go into our groups on a Monday to discuss news and stories & discuss sharing etc. Is a document available that the Nursery should be following? How long should a key worker session be?

2. I am a nursery class teacher and we have three keyworker groups. We each sit with our key worker groups at snack time which is more of a social time where children learn to sit, listen, take turns, etc. This lasts about 10 minutes. Any other group times we have I plan as the class teacher and direct the other key workers what to do. Do you have nursery manager or are you in a nursery class? All group times are less than 15 mins as the children are so young and cannot cope with sitting and listening for long periods but as i said you should definately have soem guidance from somewhere. Hope that helps?!

3. coco and crusty

coco and crusty New commenter