1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Key Stage 2 teacher drowns in reception class

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by mrszzz, Jan 6, 2012.

1. I am a key stage 2 teacher and have been covering a reception class since last week and will be for a year. I think I'm drowning.
    It is a 60 place unit, 2 teachers and 2 TAs.
    Can I ask your advice/opinion on some matters don't feel the need to answer them all
    <ol>[*]All week there has been the same items in the sand and water. Is this typical or should children have more choice?[*]The children are heard read twice a week individually which takes up an incredible amount of time( very important I know but something else will have to give)-Is this usual?[*]What objectives/learning outcomes do you use? Do you use/adapt the profile points?[*]Does your whole class do ICT and PE lessons?[*]The children come in and sit down on the carpet and wait(ish). What do you do to make the initial part of the morning more worthwhile.[*]There seems no restriction on the number of children who go in an area. Is this standard practice? There seems a lot of bickering over resources. If you do, what system do you use for limiting numbers?[*]Do you record children's number work in a book?[*]What happens at coffee time? (2 X 15 minutes)[*]What's the most you would keep children on the carpet (I appreciate that depends)</ol>gulp, gulp
    Any answers will be appreciated
    Thank you

2. Msz

Msz Established commenter

If it is for a learning focus I might use the same items all week or if I feel the children are using the equipment well.I would probably add enhancements if it was appropriate.
    At other times children would be free to choose from continuous provision