1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Key stage 1 or key stage 2?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by SK0123, Feb 9, 2017.

1. SK0123

SK0123 New commenter

Hello all. I am looking for some advice and opinions about the advantages and disadvantages of teaching in each key stage before I start looking for jobs.

I am a trainee teacher. I spent Christmas term in a year 1 class and am currently in a year 3 class. I have enjoyed both, but also seen the down side to both.

Year 1 was fun, bringing out my more creative side and the subject knowledge and marking were not a problem. I found planning tough as it involved lots of activities and resources and the lack of pupils independence could be frustrating.

Year 3 is fun too as you can use your sense of humour more and subjects become more interesting. The down side had been marking and widening gap between lower and higher ability making planning tricky.

I have not taught upper ks2 and will hopefully get experience next term.

Can anyone offer any opinions or advice that may help me make up my mind?

Thank you

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

The best expert is going to be yourself. What suits one person may not another. Each Key Stage will have advantages and disadvantages, attractions and drawbacks. But my drawback may be your advantage. Just like with children. The 'nightmare' child with one teacher, may be so much happier with another teacher's personality.

Wait until you've experienced all the different stages.

ViolaClef, Pomz and whitestag like this.
  3. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter