1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Keeping In Touch days

Discussion in 'Pregnancy' started by goldentramp85, Aug 31, 2015.

1. goldentramp85

goldentramp85 New commenter

Hello

I wondered if anyone could give me advice on KIT days, please?

I am a geography teacher who is also the Head of 6th form at my school and I am planning to go on early maternity leave as my school have increased my workload by reducing the hours of my 6th form admin assistant (she was already part-time) despite our numbers increasing this year - apparently I have to pick up the admin slack which no one has discussed with me and didn't think I had to do because I am a teacher. I don't have a deputy and my teaching hours are closer to 40 hours a fortnight. Anyway, I am thinking of leaving for maternity at half-term even though the baby is not due until 1st Jan to avoid the stress and workload which I face when I return this week.

My yr11 geographers are due to start and finish the write-up to their controlled assessment (worth 25%) by October half-term. Normally I mark these over December and January, but there is no way I am taking anything with me if I can help it. Can I use some KIT days after half-term to mark these projects? (They take about an hour each to mark). I'm worried if I come in, I'll get lumbered with 6th form stuff. My head is under the impression that I will work until Christmas holidays (I never said that I would, but that's the assumption).

Anyway, sorry this turned into a bit of a sorry-for-myself ramble but if anyone can advise on KIT days, I would really appreciate it. I'm dreading going back and not really sleeping worrying about it.

Many thanks

2. DaisysLot

DaisysLot Senior commenter