1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Keeping a straight face...help!

Discussion in 'Classics' started by nillig90, Jan 31, 2011.

1. Hi all, I don't have a clue if this is the right place to post this but I need your advice and it's not serious enough to qualify as a 'Workplace Dilemma'!

I'm a trainee primary teacher in my first year and love being in the classroom and I love the interaction with the kids. At the moment I'm placed in a Year 1 class with some real 'characters' and the things that they say are classic. The only thing is, I find it really hard to keep a straight face with them. The other day one went up to show and tell and extolled a paperclip they had just found on the floor. Obviously the kids were in hysterics. While the teacher was able to maintain order, I really struggled to contain my laughter.

Have you got any tips on stopping yourself from laughing, especially when a child wants to be taken seriously?!

2. Hi all, I don't have a clue if this is the right place to post this but I need your advice and it's not serious enough to qualify as a 'Workplace Dilemma'!

I'm a trainee primary teacher in my first year and love being in the classroom and I love the interaction with the kids. At the moment I'm placed in a Year 1 class with some real 'characters' and the things that they say are classic. The only thing is, I find it really hard to keep a straight face with them. The other day one went up to show and tell and extolled a paperclip they had just found on the floor. Obviously the kids were in hysterics. While the teacher was able to maintain order, I really struggled to contain my laughter.