1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Keep getting cover for as a 'Cover supervisor' even thought I'm a qualified teacher!!

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by mickey23, Mar 22, 2010.

1. Just thought I would come on here and have a bit of a rant. I am a qualified and experienced teacher but all the supply I have had so far is as a 'cover supervisor' obviously so the school can save some cash!! I have done 3 days supply under the cover supervisor title and still found no work set etc etc so I had to use my TEACHING skills to keep the classes occupied! I am actually thinking of turning this work down now but I would probabaly end up with no work at all then!! I didnt go to university, and fork out loads of money on tuition fees to get swindled by the schools!!
    Does anyone else have this problem?

2. I don't mean to be rude, but you're making a rod for your own back.
    You are accepting CS work as a qualified teacher - mistake 1.
    You are then teaching - mistake 2.
    You keep accepting it - mistake 3.
    Think about it - if I can get some mug to teach my kids to a good standard and only pay them half the pay, leaving the other half for the christmas bash, rather than pay full teaching rate for a teacher to teach at a good standard, guess what I'm going to do? Of course they are going to keep offering you CS work, they have you pegged as a mug. If you refuse it now, you may find they wont give you any other work for a bit in the hopes you will just give in and accept CS work - you've done it before, so why shouldn't you again being their thinking.