1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice
  3. The Teacher Q&A will be closing soon.

If you have any information that you would like to keep or refer to in the future please can you copy and paste the information to a format suitable for you to save or take screen shots of the questions and responses you are interested in.

Don’t forget you can still use the rest of the forums on theTes Community to post questions and get the advice, help and support you require from your peers for all your teaching needs.

Dismiss Notice

Just Turning up in Colombia

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by Wet Towel, May 30, 2011.

1. Hi, I used to be an ESL teacher and then I did a BEd. I know from my own experience that if you just turn up in a country it is often easy to find work as the school is happy not to have to pay all the extra benefits (flights, accom. etc.) that a teacher recruited from abroad is afforded. Being relatively inexperienced and having just come out of a disastrous relationship, I'm planning on turning up in Colombia next month and finding a job. After my nightmare relationship I am happy to have my sanity and don't really mind what school I work for.

My questions are: is it a good time to go? I heard schools/language institutes are reluctant to pay for visas, is that true? I don't want to work illegal. I'm also planning to work in a city with a nice climate (not Bogota), any suggestions?

Thanks.