1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Just started...(again!) Not enjoying it at all!

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by skynet_97, Jan 5, 2011.

1. Hi guys

I have recently come back to teaching after 3 years away & although only a couple of days into the new Term, I am absolutely hating it.
    It doesn't seem to be offering me the same 'buzz' that it did when I first started to teach 2005-2007.
    I have taken over a load of **** classes - subjects & pupils.
    I plan to see how the next few weeks go but has anyone else felt similar about a new job (any job, whether teaching or not)!? My head says stay (I have bills to pay & non teaching market hyper competitive & I am a average/good teacher) but by heart is saying "if not enjoying it, move on - even after just a few days".
    Help!
    (Thanks)

2. Hi guys

I have recently come back to teaching after 3 years away & although only a couple of days into the new Term, I am absolutely hating it.
    It doesn't seem to be offering me the same 'buzz' that it did when I first started to teach 2005-2007.
    I have taken over a load of **** classes - subjects & pupils.
    I plan to see how the next few weeks go but has anyone else felt similar about a new job (any job, whether teaching or not)!? My head says stay (I have bills to pay & non teaching market hyper competitive & I am a average/good teacher) but by heart is saying "if not enjoying it, move on - even after just a few days".
    Help!
    (Thanks)

3. What's your financial position? Jobs are not easy to come by at present, as you realise. I think at this time of year every teacher, being honest with themselves, would rather be somewhere - anywhere - else.