1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Just been appointed music lead. Where to start?!

Discussion in 'Music' started by zippygeorgeandben, Jul 9, 2018.

1. zippygeorgeandben

zippygeorgeandben Occasional commenter

Hello everyone,
    I am hoping you can help me.
    I have just been appointed Music lead in my 2 form entry Primary school. The HT thinks that just because I like (and can) sing and I do have a degree in music that this makes me an expert!
    I'm pretty sure that hardly any specific music is taught so I'm asking you experts, what should be on my to do list. Short/Medium/Long term priorities. I'm new to the school so still finding my feet in a way.
    Thanks for any advice you can pass on!

2. sparklepig2002

sparklepig2002 Star commenter

I would find out exactly what music is being taught and the musical capabilities/willingness of the teachers to get involved to support you.
    You should do an audit of resources-books, CDs, instruments etc.as a starting point to add to. Ask the staff what they would like regarding musical resources too.
    Find out if there is a music scheme for the whole school to follow -if there isn't one you should think about buying one. eg Music Express, Charanga, Musical Contexts
    Find out if you have a budget. Sing Up is an excellent wole school resource but requires a subscription.
    Find out about the abilities of the children-do any of them learn an instrument, do you have any visiting peripatetic teachers. Are there any music clubs-choirs, recorders , orchestra?
    I would send out a questionnaire to parents-are there any musical parents who might be willing to come and help with musical activities?