1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Just a worried thought about fat cats and TPS...

Discussion in 'Education news' started by Mrsmumbles, Oct 2, 2018.

1. Mrsmumbles

Mrsmumbles Star commenter

We all know that a colossal swathe of academy staff are creaming off the cash and awarding themselves highly debatable salaries. Which are factored into their TPS pensions? I’m getting worried now. I was an old school teacher, back in the half on days of LEAS, ritually every job being permanent and no rigged appraisals. I paid in for 20 years and worked very hard for it. Won’t the pension pots of normal hard slogging teachers be at risk of just running out now? There have been so many inflated salaries...surely this will affect TPS?

tterb likes this.
  2. FrankWolley

FrankWolley Star commenter

There is no pension pot in the TPS...

Teachers paying in today (like you, I assume) pay my pension (as a retired teacher). So if you are paying in, can I say thanks?:D

yodaami2 likes this.
  3. Mrsmumbles

I know..but I just wanted to clarify..who on earth IS going to oaky these huge pensions for the fat cats when teacher salaries are generally so small? It no make sense! Oh and you’re welcome. I paid in for twenty years but I will never see the full whack as I was forced out mid forties. My neighbour taught for 20 years from 1978-1988 and has an awesome pension. Holidays four times a year. No idea what she receives. I am predictably envious but also happy for her, as she was an excellent teacher. They don’t make them like that any more!

4. applecrumblebumble

applecrumblebumble Lead commenter