1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Joining an academy

Discussion in 'Primary' started by cool05, Jan 24, 2019.

?

Should a stable and 'good' mainstream school join a MAT?

Poll closed Jan 31, 2019.
  1. Yes

1 vote(s)
    6.3%
  2. No

15 vote(s)
    93.8%
  1. cool05

cool05 New commenter

What are the negatives of joining a MAT?

2. MadHatter1985

MadHatter1985 New commenter

I used to work as a teacher at a maintained school which later became part of a MAT. Here are some of the positives and negatives I noticed at that school:

Positives:
    The head teacher was closely managed by the Academy Directors so had to be careful to follow procedures properly.
    There was no change in the STPCD/Burgundy Book so teachers' terms and conditions were the same.
    There were more visits by MAT consultants, so there was more training.
    The school changed from a nominally religious school to one which took its religious character more seriously.
    There was no immediate changes in staffing after joining a MAT, which allowed continuity for teachers and pupils alike. Change was gradual and incremental.

Negatives:
    The head teacher was no longer making the decisions, but the Academy Directors (who did not know the school context or the pupils as well)
    The school lost control of the budget. (The budget passed to the MAT as a whole)
    There were more visits by MAT consultants and the number of learning walks/amount of scrutiny increased.
    Many policies and decisions were no longer taken at school level but at MAT level.
    The school's religious character became more pronounced, which meant teachers leading prayers. (Not all teachers were comfortable with this).