1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

jobseekers over summer months

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by alliemags, Jul 29, 2011.

1. Can anyone advise me what is the law/rules concerning claiming jobseekers over the summer? I am a sub teacher but this year I am in the fortunate position to know that I will be going back to the same school in September - but only for as long as they need me. I have no contract with the school and I am paid on an hourly basis so dont get paid for christmas or easter etc. Any subs I have asked that are in similar positions are claiming with no issue but my DSS office said this is seen as a regular pattern of employment and therefore I am not entitled to jobseekers. What are the rest of you doing? Thanks in anticipation of helpful answers :)

2. Can anyone advise me what is the law/rules concerning claiming jobseekers over the summer? I am a sub teacher but this year I am in the fortunate position to know that I will be going back to the same school in September - but only for as long as they need me. I have no contract with the school and I am paid on an hourly basis so dont get paid for christmas or easter etc. Any subs I have asked that are in similar positions are claiming with no issue but my DSS office said this is seen as a regular pattern of employment and therefore I am not entitled to jobseekers. What are the rest of you doing? Thanks in anticipation of helpful answers :)