1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Jobs on the French- Swiss border.

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by rhianrebecca, Feb 24, 2011.

1. Hi,

I graduated from Oxford University in summer 2009 with a good 2.I in Biological Sciences, and in Sept. 09 I began teaching science at a Midlands academy as part of the Teach First scheme. I completed my PGCE with an 'outstanding' rating from Teach First and I am now an NQT at the same school. I am now looking to move to the French- Swiss border to join my partner, but having applied for roles at two different international schools in the region, I have been unsuccessful. My French is basic and so I am limited to applying for teaching roles at international schools.

While I would love to stay in teaching while in Geneva (c. 2 years), I am also comfortable with the idea of a 'gap two years' improving my French (and enjoying fondue, raclette etc.!) while waiting for my partner to finish his doctorate. Besides teaching I am interested in retail, but again my lack of languages is a major issue.

Does anyone have any idea about jobs which I could do in Geneva, or other teaching- related possibilities? Any ideas are welcomed. I am not too concerned about money- I just want enough to be able to live on.

Thanks in advance,

RhianRebecca.

2. Hi,