1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Jobs in UAE State Sector

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by licensedtoteach, Mar 8, 2011.

1. I am a second year teacher for a well-known AD organisation. Appointed originally on a 2-year contract, I work in the primary sector under licence.
    A few things that people should be aware of:
    1. The children have little or no English and even less manners. Teachers are well-remunerated but the job is tough.
    2. If you have no formal EFL training, get some. The levels of English here are poor at best. This also applies in the Grade 12 sectors of the state system here where some fellow Americans work.
    3. Even though we are well-remunerated, it is not a place for teaching couples with children of school age. There is no educational allowance as part of the package.
    4. The governmental body in charge of education is shambolic. The curricula used are unrealistically ambitious in primary and secondary. English, for example, is based on a completely inappropriate 1st Language model. Many of the students are barely literate in their own language, let alone English.
    5. Be especially aware of one primary where Chinese is being taught alongside English and Arabic - and no, I am not joking.
    6. It is likely that the useful support that there has been (in my case anyway) from outside operators is going to be withdrawn across the board. If this happens, expect chaos, particularly in the Cycle 2 (Grades 6-9) and Cycle 3 (Grades 10-12) schools where things are likely to lose direction and focus. Even in schools where operator support has been patchy, they have at least served the purpose of keeping people in line.