1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Job search advice - leaving a school in Notice to Improve

Discussion in 'Primary' started by mantilla, Jan 14, 2011.

1. mantilla

mantilla New commenter

Hi everyone,
    I went on maternity leave in July from a school which has a Notice to Improve. My husband's job has moved 90 mins away so there is no chance of me going back to my old school.
    I am after advice on crafting a personal statement as I was a year 6 teacher in a school where attainment in KS2 was highlighted as an issue. Now, not getting defensive here but I was only in the school two years, so the children's attainment at KS2 is hardly my sole responsibility, but you know what some people can be like about putting all the burden on Y6 teachers. In my view the damage was done lower down the school before I even got them (one of my last class made 5 sub-levels in writing and still wasn't a L4 at the end of the year...)
    Do I need to mention what happened ? Gut instinct says no, but is this right? I suppose I focus on the achievements that were made and possibly the contrast to the year before I arrived where the cohort achieved very very poorly. Does that sound reasonable? Any other tips? Am I just answering my own questions?
    I am looking to go back part-time from September, ideally lower down the school or even better as PPA cover (if that helps).
    Thanks in advance for the help.
    mantilla

2. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

I'd say just apply for a new post and write what you need to to make a positive impression and answer the person spec of the job in question.