1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Job Role Questions? (SEN Teacher covering a TA)

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by quidditch, Jan 31, 2012.

1. quidditch

quidditch New commenter

I am an SEN teacher at a secondary school. Our SENCO has "instructed" me to cover a TA during absences!
    She is not the best manager and has upset many people, seems to take advantage of staff and I am not sure if this is acceptable (as there are others TA's available to cover)

Does anyone know?
    I've asked my union but had no answer :-/

2. presumably she is in charge of ensuring best use of resources and will have to justify her decisions to SLT. What would you be doing if you weren't covering this TA?
    Are you supporting students in class with another teacher running the lesson or are you expected to do all the admin/photocopying type stuff TAs need to do?
    If it is in class support (or small group/individual withdrawal) and you aren't timetabled to be teaching and it isn't during your PPA time then it seems reasonable.
    I'd need more info to comment properly.

3. quidditch

quidditch New commenter

I have been taken out of another lesson as there is a controlled assessment and the usual TA is used to scribe. Meaning my student will go unsupported.
    I would be in another class with the Teacher teaching.

It probably would be ok although I don't know the children, its a different department and the manner I was told was pretty unprofessional! mergh office politics!