1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Job offered....now what happens?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Twix22, Jul 16, 2019.

1. Twix22

Twix22 New commenter

Hi all,

So i was lucky enough to be offered a job last week as an LSP in a special school (yay!!!) Of course this a conditional offer dependent on reference clearance etc.
    Now, I've never worked in a school before (youth work background) so I dont know how the after interview process works.

They asked me to come in the day after to complete some paperwork, bank details and medical questionnaire etc which I did. I handed it over and ths receptionist said all sorted we'll be in touch. So now I'm wondering what happens with my DBS check because haven't heard anything since? The school closes this Friday for the summer break but they gave me a start date of September 4th but I can't see how everything will be sorted by the end of the week. So silly question but do I just sit tight and wait? I know I should of confirmed this with them, but in all honesty I was a little giddy with excitement and wasn't thinking clearly!

2. Rott Weiler

Rott Weiler Star commenter Forum guide

You can only submit a DBS application through them (you can't apply for it directly to DBS yourself). Give them a quick call or email and ask.

3. Twix22

Twix22 New commenter

Thank you for the reply Rott Weiler. I was thinking of giving them a quick call but I wasn't too sure as I didn't want to come across as over eager. I'll ring them in the morning.

4. Twix22

Twix22 New commenter

Hi just a mini update and ask to a further question.