1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Job offer in Ras Al Khaimah help and advice needed! REPOST

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Sdave34, Mar 29, 2019.

1. Sdave34

Sdave34 New commenter

Hi, my husband has received a job offer as head of Department at a school in Ras Al Khaimah. Unfortunately the offer was a lot lower than we expected 12000 p/m but we were told the cost of living is a lot cheaper than other areas in the ME so that is why? Can anyone confirm this is correct?

We have a 7 month old baby who will 1 at the time of our move. I am also a secondary English teacher but not sure whether I will be working as we are not sure we want to leave our baby in care at such a young age.

One of our main motivations is to work and save money so it would be lucrative for us both to be employed. (The school have offered to give me a job too)

Here are the (many) dilemmas we face and any advice/help/answers will be greatly appreciated.

1. Does the salary sound correct for a head of Department role? 7 years experience. And if not should it be negotiable?

2. What are the nurseries like for young children? Also any information about nannies or hired help to look after babies? Are they reliable/safe?

3. If I choose not to work, i have heard there is a lot of money to be made in tutoring. Is this correct? Also would I be able to do casual supply work? And could I get a job out there when we get there, possibly in January?

4. What is the actual cost of living? Is it possible to save? And is it possible to live on one wage?

5. Are we better off applying to other schools instead?

6. Any general advice about which schools are the best to apply to. We are open to most of the ME.