1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Job offer Doha - Advice?!

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by oli288, Apr 17, 2019.

Tags:
  1. oli288

oli288 New commenter

Hi all,

I have been offered a job in Doha, Qatar but I am new to international schools so have no idea what is good and what isn't the greatest. I have been offered 12000 QAR a month with accommodation provided/ allowance of 5500QAR. This seems like a pretty decent offer for someone in their 2nd year of teaching but I am unsure?

Does anyone have any advice about salary/ living in Qatar in regards to cost of living?

Also, there seems to be a lot of job advertisements for this school online in a range of subjects and SLT roles. Should this be a major concern?

Thanks!

2. PuRe

PuRe Occasional commenter

Well congrats on your offer of employment, the package that you mention doesn’t seem bad what’s the rest of it? Medical/flight/shipping etc. The bells I hear at the moment are about the other positions that are open, as in Doha they started their advertisement early as of last year, so having that many still open makes you wonder.

3. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

As this smelly old hippo has pointed out, on many occasions, there are some truly terrible schools in Doha. A bit of online research will reveal whether or not the OP has been offered a job at one of the rotten apples.

4. oli288

oli288 New commenter

I have done a bit of research online but the latest review I could find was dated back in 2017 and stated it is ‘improving’ under new management. There haven’t been any bad posts since. Could that be a sign of positivity?

5. oli288

oli288 New commenter