1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Job interview - HLTA

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by billygoatgriff, Mar 1, 2009.

1. Hi,
    I have been shortlisted for an HLTA job at a local secondary school and the interview is on Friday.
    I'm a qualified primary teacher and since having my children, I have worked mainly on temporary contracts with some supply work between contracts. I am now "too expensive" to get a permanent teaching job and applied for the HLTA position, not really expecting to be considered! Now I'm starting to panic a bit as I'm hopeless at interviews and have absolutely no experience in secondary. Applied for the job in desparation- my eldest will be going to uni next year and I need the stability of a permanent job so I can afford to give him some money towards living costs etc. Looking at the job spec they want the applicant to have/ be able to do the following:
    Manage other TAs / hold regular team meetings with managed staff.
    Represent TAs at staff and SMT meetings.
    Undertake recruitment/induction/appraisal/training/mentoring for other TAs.
    Comply with ansd assist with development of policies and prodedures relating to child protection, health, safety and security, confidentiality and data protection.
    Liase with outside agencies.
    plan, evaluate learning activities.
    Manage and share record keeping systems and processes.
    Assist in transition arrangements between key stages.
    Administer and assess/mark tests and invigilate exams/tests.
    Take a lead role in managing and delivering pastoral support to pupils.
    Engage with pupils of all age groups, to review academic performance and set targets as appropriate.