1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Job hunting in Northern Ireland

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by doubtfuljoy, Nov 2, 2018.

1. doubtfuljoy

doubtfuljoy New commenter

I am a primary school teacher who qualified and subsequently worked in Scotland for three years. I have recently moved home, and in the past two months applied for 8 teaching posts which have popped up, as well as being on the substitute register. However, I have only received rejections and am getting no supply work at all.

Is there anyone here familiar with the education system in NI who could explain better how it all works over here? Thank you.

2. JIM07

JIM07 New commenter

Hi! You are not alone... I am in the same position. Was teaching in England for couple years and have found it very difficult to get work since I’ve been back. I applied for any jobs that were going there recently.. only heard back from one which said they had enhanced the criteria. It’s soul destroying...supply work is dead too. I’ve been round with cv etc but not getting anywhere fast. I was on a course last week and it’s really who you know in schools- one girl told me she got her temp role as she knows the principal. How did you find teaching in Scotland?

3. JIM07

JIM07 New commenter

Any other Northern Irish teachers out there who are finding it tough??

4. SelectMyTutor

SelectMyTutor New commenter

You can find out jobs in the teaching field from many sources, just like online job sites or from consultants. You can join any social group where peoples post job requirement.

5. ViciousChicken

ViciousChicken New commenter