1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I've lost my confidence...

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by ookiedookie, Nov 21, 2011.

1. Hi there,
    I hope someone can offer some advice!
    I am a PGCE student and I should have qualified in July. I became very ill and had to stop my final teaching placement a few days in.
    I passed the 1st and 2nd placements with flying colours and made a great impression in both schools. Not blowing my own trumpet - but my mentor told me that my lessons where the kind of thing she would expect to see from an experienced CT. ( I know I pulled out all the stops for my obs. and I have a LOT to learn)
    I am trying to arrange going back into a school to complete the final placement and I find myself on an emotional rollercoaster - I can't wait to get back and at the same time I am absolutely dreading it.
    I knew I was becoming ill but I had no time to see a doctor. Then I had a 'funny turn' in front of the pupils, had to leave the classroom, collapsed in the toilets etc.. and had to leave.
    Now I keep thinking of how it must have looked and how stupid I am for letting it happen.
    I think I was a pretty good trainee teacher, I had excellent observations and my mentor was very pleased with me. When I left I gave all of my planning/ hand made resources to the CT and heard absolutely nothing from her after that.
    I keep thinking I am going to be 'blacklisted'. The though of standing infront of the children makes me so nervous. I used to be fine, really outgoing and confident. I cannot imagine being the teacher I thought I had the potential to be.