1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I've had enough

Discussion in 'Primary' started by docendo discimus, Dec 2, 2015.

1. docendo discimus

docendo discimus New commenter

I am an experienced year 6 teacher - I am in my tenth year of teaching. Every lesson observation I have ever had (except one) has graded me as outstanding and the children I work with have always made better than good progress. I work in an outstanding school. When I can shut the classroom door and just be working with the kids, I am happy.

Despite all this, I have simply had enough of the profession. I have no idea what I am doing with assessment this year. I have no idea about how I am measuring progress this year. I feel completely lost and I have had enough of it. The lack of support, guidance, clarity, organisation, coherence within this new curriculum and new assessment framework is stressing me out and I am ready to walk out of the door.

I don't want any sympathy or criticism - I just wanted to write down how I felt in the hope that it would make me feel better.

teacup71 and TEA2111 like this.
  2. Niamhynoo

Niamhynoo New commenter

I've just met with ten other year 6 teachers in our local cluster. Everybody is feeling 'lost'. We are just focusing on teaching the children, identifying any gaps in their learning and hoping for the best when they complete the assessments. We're all in the same boat and all we can do is keep focused on the children and know we couldn't work any harder for them. You're obviously good at your job - don't let a new assessment system/overloaded curriculum drive you out and deprive your children of a great teacher.

nick909 likes this.
  3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter