1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I've done classroom observations, what's the next step?

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by Lakers93, Dec 30, 2019.

1. Lakers93

Lakers93 New commenter

Hi, hopefully this doesn't sound too stressed, I'm just confused about what to do. I'm a degree student in my second year and I'm thinking of going into teaching. I started classroom observations in late November until we broke up for the Christmas holidays - so far I've racked up 40 hours of classroom experience. What's the next step? Do I become a TA? No-one seems to give me a clear answer when I ask this, a receptionist told me I need 60 hours of classroom experience to become a TA, but I don't know if that's true.

As my degree isn't at a main university campus, it's at a college campus that has a university provision in the form of a university building, the college offers teacher training courses, but every year it becomes delayed for a year because of a lack of applicants. On the application page of some of those they say you need to have a placement already anyway - it's so confusing.

Whenever I've looked at TA job listings, they all have requirements that I don't have - they seem to be aimed at people who have been teaching assistants for some time.

I just want to know what the next step is for me to go into teaching, do I go through a company or agency to become a teaching assistant, do you have to go through a teacher training program before that, and if so, where?

Thanks!

2. yasf

yasf Established commenter

There are several routes. You've already done far more than I did before I started my PGCE. This site should help.
    https://getintoteaching.education.gov.uk/