1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

I've been accepted onto a SCITT course for september but I'm getting cold feet already

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Teacher_Jen, Jan 29, 2012.

1. Hi guys,
    Well, currently I work in retail, its boring, I'm on my feet constantly and its pretty mind numbing.
    As I have my degree I felt that I needed to do something that made use of that, I have also always wanted to teach.
    I am volunteering in a primary school once a week and this school is a very challenging one - lots of english as a second language and children who can barely read and write in year four.
    I enjoy my relationship with the children, helping them to achieve and seeing the smile on their faces when they do something they are really proud of.
    When I was offered my place on the SCITT course I felt so lucky and alhough my dreams had come true.
    Now I come onto these forums and read some of the posts and it makes me really anxious and worried. I don't want to have zero time for friends and family as they're a huge part of my life. I'm also scared of some of the horror stories I've been reading. I don't understand how it can be as bad as everyone says or nobody would do it surely?
    I have friends who are now NQTs and in training and most of them find it hard but are enjoying it, only one is really hating it at the moment and thats because she doesn't like her school.
    My cousin is also a teacher in her second year of teaching and is loving it, she never seems to be stressed and is constantly going away on holidays and going out with her mates still.