1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

It's a mess...so how can I get references?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Mrs_Hamilton, Oct 6, 2015.

1. Mrs_Hamilton

Mrs_Hamilton Occasional commenter

I have been a teacher for over 10 years (oh my - THAT long!).
    I have always been a good teacher with outstanding features.
    I have taken on leadership roles for various subjects and areas of the curriculum.
    I am very strong with SEN and pastoral care for pupils.

But, certain relationships between myself and 'leadership' in the school I work in have broken down and seem irretrievable. The situation in the whole school is a 'mess'. It is not a situation unique to me. Other staff have reported their relationships have broken down too with the 'leadership'.

I find myself, despite having very positive lesson observations which are ALL good with outstanding features, feeling vulnerable. I feel like things might spiral downwards as I have seen with other staff who are no longer working at the school.

So I am looking for alternatives. I have told my head teacher that I am looking for other jobs and 'asked' if i could give them as a reference which is fine (unless/until things hit the downwards spiral) and I get another job or supply.

My problem is that I am seriously considering handing my notice in by 31st October but have not yet secured a job as I do not want to go from the frying pan to the fire. An option I am considering is supply teaching to give me time to get my head together. BUT then who or where will i get my references from?

So I guess my questions are:
    1 - could supply be a sensible solution to getting some space?