1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Isolation

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by c_hopkins2, Jan 22, 2019.

1. Hello teachers
    I am a student teacher and I am wanting to write an assignment on the effectiveness of isolation

I'm interested to hear about what that means at your school - when it's used - does it work - are you a fan - any anecdotal evidence or stories.

Its new to me and I'm investigating how my placement school use it but a wider view would be helpful

thanks
    [This comment/section has been removed for breaching our Community Guidelines/Terms and conditions]

2. lovejoy_antiques

lovejoy_antiques Occasional commenter

Regards the effectiveness of isolation: One poorly behaved student on their own is isolation. An isolation room full of students is a youth club. Hope this helps.

3. sarah_dann1

sarah_dann1 Occasional commenter TES Behaviour peer advisor

This is an interesting topic to investigate. Do share your conclusions with us when you can.

Overall, I am personally in favour of isolation as an option. Despite the issues associated with its implementation and effectiveness, I do think it needs to be there as a possibility in schools in some form. I have worked in a school with no facility for it at all and found I missed it.

The key considerations in my opinion are:

1. Stepped approach with isolation as a consequence of a student failing to respond to other sanctions. These procedures need to be clear and consistent across the school to avoid a student being excluded from a particular subject long term or a "difficult character" being sent straight to isolation without fair procedure.

2. Careful consideration of the environment.