1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is your performance at teacher training college/university at indicator as to what sort of teacher you will be/become?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by The Red Heron, Jun 19, 2011.

1. The Red Heron

The Red Heron New commenter

I admit it...10 years on it still makes me laugh at the so called amazing teachers (normally girls) who had amazing practises, amazing coursework results, seminar presentations and essay marks arent actually in the profession anymore.
    I was a terrible student...I fully admit it..my practises were lame, I failed one, my essay marks cr.ap (normally about 45%) and my unsurpringly not many were queuing upto do presentations with me.
    10 years on, Ive taught every age range in the Primary Phase, co ordinated 7 subjects, been a mentor at every stage from 1st year student to NQT to return to teaching,been a KS Leader and a successful supply teacher who worked every day for a whole term-and who next year will be UPS 3 in my third school
    Out of 20 trainees from uni who I still know of 3 are still in the profession-I personally think anyone can turn anything professionally around with a decent attitude and a bit of perseverence

2. The Red Heron

I admit it...10 years on it still makes me laugh at the so called amazing teachers (normally girls) who had amazing practises, amazing coursework results, seminar presentations and essay marks arent actually in the profession anymore.
    I was a terrible student...I fully admit it..my practises were lame, I failed one, my essay marks cr.ap (normally about 45%) and my unsurpringly not many were queuing upto do presentations with me.