1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is Wilshaw right about phonics?

Discussion in 'Education news' started by TES_Rosaline, Oct 27, 2015.

1. TES_Rosaline

TES_Rosaline Administrator Staff Member

2. lanokia

lanokia Star commenter

Wasn't phonics a cause of an epic thread on oldTES?

Other than that I'm secondary so... I know nothin!

3. irs1054

irs1054 Star commenter

I'm no expert in this I will be the first to admit. I struggled with this whilst some one-to-one in a primary school a few years back.

But how can you use phonics to teach a language that isn't really phonic based and has so many exceptions?

4. snowyhead

snowyhead Lead commenter

It's a huge can of worms best kept with the lid tightly on.

5. irs1054

irs1054 Star commenter

Isn't the source of this "phonics is best" saga down to one study of 300 kids in Clackmananshire?

6. yfel_endwerce

yfel_endwerce Established commenter

Hell no

I have noticed that many of the thread titles on this forum can be simply defined as questions that can, and probably should, be answered with simple affirmative or negatives.
    Yes and No, however are slightly boring and so, to prevent a certain monosyllabic monotony, I will be responding with variations of

1. Hell no! (negative)
    2. Do bears poo in the woods? (affirmative)
    I trust this meets with the approval of the moderation team?

7. snowyhead

snowyhead Lead commenter