1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is this what Teaching will always be like?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by traceurhazz14, Jan 16, 2020.

1. traceurhazz14

traceurhazz14 New commenter

I am in my 2nd year of teaching and our Ofsted inspection is due next year.

We have book scrutinies every week, things wrong pointed out in front of everyone in PDMs, currently going into several mock deep dives, drop ins every week, environment scrutinies etc. Meanwhile I'm supporting an NQT and expected to do everything right without knowing if its correct. This is has been going on for a while now and its only now that it's made me hit rock bottom. I'm unmotivated and exhausted. If I leave and get another job, is it just going to be exactly the same wherever I go?

Apologies for the naivety.

2. HolyMahogany

HolyMahogany Occasional commenter

Sorry to have to be the bearer of bad news, but what you are experiencing is becoming the norm in more and more schools. I began teaching 32 years ago and retired after 30 my wife is about to retire from teaching. I never expected it to be an easy job but I never imagined it would become such hard work, every year got worse rather than better.
    I do not believe this will change. We have two children and are determined that they will never go into teaching.