1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is this the right time?

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by Purplecat82, Jul 22, 2020.

1. Purplecat82

Purplecat82 New commenter

So..I have been offered a position on a primary PGCE course which is fantastic, but recently I have been disheartened by a lot of negative comments regarding teaching and the work/life balance. I am after some real advice.

I will be a mature student, I graduated in 2017 and fully intended to do my PGCE later in life as I wanted to be around for my kids when they were younger. I ran my own business before becoming a TA in a primary school and then in secondary (I wanted to check which age range I wanted to work in before applying.) Both my children will be in secondary school and are pretty independent in the fact that they will come home and get on with their work etc.

Having worked in schools, I am fully aware of the times and challenges of the role and am happy to be working 7:30-5:30+ each day in school and then some in the evenings at home. I want to be able to keep one day of the weekend entirely free from school work to have family time.

Everyone I speak to who is a teacher is telling me not to do it. They say that they can't manage and don't get time with their families at all. Their children are all younger. I am not afraid of hard work and will strive hard to do the best for my students, but I won't let my life or my family life suffer because of my job.

Honestly, is it really that bad? Are they just bad at managing themselves and workload or am I making the biggest mistake of my life??

2. Corvuscorax

Corvuscorax Star commenter