1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is this assault?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by CinnamonGirl, May 5, 2011.

1. Thank you both for your responses.
    I emailed my Union rep who said he was sorry to hear of what had happened and that next year would be better (I am fairly new to the school, though I have been teaching for some time).
    I also phoned the police, who are coming to speak to me later today. I'm terrified as the school aren't going to like it.

2. Karvol

Karvol Occasional commenter

That should be the least of your concerns. If they don't like it then they should make sure it never happens again.

3. lilykitty

lilykitty New commenter

How did the child respond when they realised the door had hit you with force?
    I think this is a personal judgement. I have had incidents happen to me with a child who had quite severe behavioural difficulties, but I did not feel it necessary to take action because the child was devestated and we talked about how serious his behaviour had been even though he hadn't meant for it to happen. It was clear from later incidents that he had taken this on board and even when he was 'acting out' he would think twice about any action that could harm someone.
    If you feel that your circumstance is different (I should mention I teach primary, as well) then you absolutely have the right to take different action. I hope it gets sorted out for you.