1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is there something serious wrong with ITT?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by tired999, Mar 8, 2020.

1. tired999

tired999 New commenter

I'm 2 weeks into my second placement and am really struggling. Not with the students or the crazy workload but the attitude of my mentor and some of the people who observe me. I am a mature student and am highly qualified. This seems to be an issue for some of the teachers in the school, especially those who have never had a career before and are male!

My timetable keeps changing at the last minute, lessons are cancelled after I've planned them and others are added at short notice. There haven't been any departmental meetings or emails and I teach most of my classes once a week or fortnight! I've asked to observe lessons before teaching classes but it's been refused for quite a few of my classes. The feedback I've received has been highly personal and written or in email, not face to face. When I've tried to speak to people I've been told they are too busy.

My ITT provider have been as supportive as they can but they do not seem to have much say about how the school behaves and also want to keep them on side for future placements.

I will survive the next 4 weeks (until the end of the placement) but why should it be necessary just to survive? I want to observe examples of good teaching to help me be a good teacher and want to have constructive feedback not demoralising personal put downs that leave me depressed. I know teachers are busy but is it acceptable for PGCE students to be spoken to like they are? If they are talking to their students in the same way .........God help them!