1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is TEFL Worth it for me?

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by DocP, Dec 6, 2011.

1. I would really appreciate some advice on this. I am currently a full time teacher and i am employed in a sixth form college in the UK. I currently teach ICT A level. i have been employed full time for 13 years and worked in secondary schools teaching 11-16. I qualified following a PGCE, PhD and degree in electronics, i have also worked in an international school overseas. I am fed up. Problem is, english is my first and only language
    So, i have decided to work overseas again, preferably in spain, however rather than limiting myself to international schools (which limits the location where i could be based), i want to have the opportunity to work in different geographic locations, teaching english as a foreign language. The question is, would a TEFL qualification improve my chances? or indeed would a more expensive CELTA qualification?
    I have done some research into TEFL quals and looked at the online variants, but there are several diferent courses to choose from. So,
    • Will a TEFL of CELTA help me gain employment in spain, or indeed any other country?
    • Is it worth it on top of my current quals / experience?
    • If so, which type of TEFL (or CELTA) course would be best?
    I realise i could look on the respective websites (TEFL, CELTA) however i would prefer a more balanced, inependent view.
    thanks