1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is teaching experience necessary for a PGCE? And work life balance with a toddler?

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by jenboydy44, Mar 31, 2020.

1. Hi all
    I wondered if you could help me at all please?
    I am currently a Footwear Designer (ten years experience) , thinking of a career change in my mid 30's and becoming a textiles secondary school teacher, I am looking to apply to do a PGCE in September. I had enquired at a few local schools about coming into school to gain some work experience, however now with the corona virus situation it is not possible.
    I did Camp America 15 years ago and taught Art for three months and I currently teach a beginners sewing class at a local cafe- to all age ranges, however I don't have any formal classroom experience.
    So my questions really are:
    Will my ten years + work experience as a designer be desirable?
    Will my very old Camp America teaching experience even count?
    Will my small beginners sewing class I teach at the local cafe hold any sort of merit?

Also on a personal level I have a young son ( 2 years old) I hear horror stories of teaching and literally never seeing your own children is this true? I do want to have another child in a few years time- any parents out there, would you start your teaching training and at least do your PGCE and NQT year before thinking about another child? Or have your children and then move into teaching?