1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is supply teaching the right path for me financially?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by Bowstreetwhiskey, Apr 4, 2011.

1. Hi

First let me apologise if this has been covered in other posts but the more I read, the more confused I become. At this stage it is only the financial implications of supply work I am concerned about. Any help would be much appreciated.

I have been a teacher in Leeds for 6 years but I've never done supply work. My last pemanent job ended in August 2010 and since that time I have been on Contribution-based JSA and have recently moved onto Income-based JSA. I am a single parent with a teenage son who gets DLA. I have no savings and I live in rented accomodation.

My question really is, would I be better off financially working as a supply teacher or staying on JSA and holding out for a permanent job in teaching or otherwise?

I have read many excellent posts by Jubilee and others but because I have no experience of supply work, and there are conficting posts on the amount of work I might expect (my subject is ICT), plus CRB's at £40+ a pop, I'm very interested in the experience of others. BTW, my JobCentre have so far been very understanding about the situation.

Thanking you in anticipation. Bow Street Whiskey.

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

As it's now the end of the year I've just had my last pay slip for the financial year & despite having quite regular work at one school, I've again earned just under £4k. In the past 10 years, unless I had a long-term post, I never got anywhere near the tax allowance for the year.