1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is private tutoring enjoyable?

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by balanced, Apr 17, 2011.

1. How much job satisfaction do you get from private tutoring. I am thinking of taking on this role but really want to enjoy my work. What is your experience?
    Thanks

2. How much job satisfaction do you get from private tutoring. I am thinking of taking on this role but really want to enjoy my work. What is your experience?
    Thanks

3. Mathsteach2

Mathsteach2 Occasional commenter

I have been doing private tuition here in Barbados since I retired in 2007 at 65 years old. I do some one-to-one tuition but more regularly have up to four students in a group, mixed age-range, infants to adults. For the group sessions, my fees per student are much lower, of course.

However, I do this because I find it extremely enjoyable rather than the money. Challenging yes, time-consuming yes, but I do little else in my retirement apart from watch films on the TV, surf the Internet like this and play chess on the computer. In fact, I go so far as to say that if I had my time again, after one or two years in a school classroom, I would be out as an entrepreneur, doing private tuition full-time, and perhaps even setting up my own agency. It is generally accepted that working as an employee in any sphere will never earn us a fortune, which also must be seen to be extremely pleasurable.