1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is PGCE recognised in Canada?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by vicj1_17, Feb 23, 2018.

1. vicj1_17

vicj1_17 New commenter

At the present I am studying for a degree in Primary and Outdoor Education. I am thinking of gaining a PGCE on completion of my course.

Having worked and lived in Canada for 14 months. My plan is to move to Canada, does anyone know if a PGCE is recognised in Canada? Any advice would welcome?

2. february31st

february31st Established commenter

If your degree has QTS you will not need a PGCE. Best to contract the Canadian House help line for advice.

vicj1_17 likes this.
  3. Helen-Back

Helen-Back Occasional commenter

Recognised yes, but sufficient to be able to teach? Probably not, not in British Columbia anyway. But as Feb31 says, if your first degree gives you QTS a PGCE won't be necessary. However, in BC you will probably be required to take additional uni courses including Canadian history, Canadian geography and, if required, Human Kinetics, English comprehension, English literacy, a first year science course and perhaps a social studies course. In BC you need five years of uni before they'll let you in a classroom.

https://www.bcteacherregulation.ca/

JL48, vicj1_17 and ejclibrarian like this.
  4. swsimp160

swsimp160 Occasional commenter