1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is NQT needed if I have a few years international Teaching Experience?

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by Gerry321, Mar 7, 2012.

1. I am seriously contemplating teaching overseas, starting this August. I will be an NQT.

I want to teach at international schools and am not worried about getting NQT as I don't see myself teaching in the UK.

If I do a few years on the international circuit will good international schools want to know if I had done my NQT year? Or will it be a case of 'you have plenty of international experience...'

Just want to know if not doing the NQT will come back and bite me in the ass in the future if I go abroad right away.

Thanks.

2. SMT dude

SMT dude New commenter

We wouldn't be bothered, if your interview and your references made it obvious that you'd done a few years' excellent work elsewhere.
    No risk to us, except that some weasel might creep in here or the ISR and squeak that we appoint unqualified staff. This we would of course disdainfully ignore.
    Your posteriors would remain unperforated unless you ever for any reason wanted to go back to the UK and work in a State School. Assuming the current regulations were still in force, you might be put to some inconvenience.
    And don't laugh off the idea - just this year, two colleagues are leaving us principally because of a syndrome younger people are vulnerable to, known as 'Lerv', which is notorious both in Life and in Literature for bouncing the best-planned careers off the track.

3. e'xcept that some weasel might creep in here or the ISR and squeak that we appoint unqualified staff'