1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is new teachers getting a hard time normal?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Mr_Madonna007, May 2, 2016.

1. Mr_Madonna007

Mr_Madonna007 New commenter

Hello

Is it normal for a new teacher to be given a hard time by the children at a secondary school?

I'm new to teaching, and years 8 & 9 are really giving me a hard time (year 9 are the worst). I'm picking up from where the last teacher left off, and year 9 answer back, keep talking when I'm trying to teach, answer back when I pull them up about chatting, and then argue with me when their names is written on the consequences board.

Last week, the assistant head walked in and the whole class stopped talking. She had to stay with me for 15 minutes so we could get some of the lesson completed.

It made me feel inadequate as a teacher, and year 9 just seems to have no respect for me (minus 5 children who are lovely).

It's played on my mind for a few days, and worried the school may think I'm not good enough.

I have openly stated year 9 are difficult children.

I attended another teacher's class who teach the same year 9, and they behaved - is it just me?

This will be my fourth week, and wondering will I make it until July!

I can walk away, but that would be too easy, and I want to prove I can teach. I know I'm good, but year 9 are making me doubt my class management skills and teaching ability.

Sorry for the rant.

2. MissHallEnglish

MissHallEnglish Occasional commenter Forum guide and community helper