1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Is my exit strategy realistic?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by _teacher90_, Dec 27, 2011.

1. After seeing several colleagues leave (either through disciplinary procedures or not so gentle pressure) I find myself the new target of a bullying SMT and need to get out. I've lost all confidence (am an experienced teacher with several schools under my belt) and any fight that I previously had has been battered out of me.
    Teaching jobs are few and far between in my area and as an expensive teacher I'm realistic enough to realise that I'm unlikely to get another full time job when there is a glut of far cheaper NQT's out there.
    I have thought about my exit strategy but it requires me to continue to work in my current post to finance a new venture but I'm wondering whether this is a sensible option given the precarious position I am in and the affect it is having on my health (am on AD's and suffering from depression as a result or work-related stress).
    I may be able to go down to part time from September, which might ease my stress and make me less of a target but I wonder how possible it is going to be to stick out 2 terms of full time in the meantime and then continue to work there when it is making me so miserable. Financially I will be better off going part time than starting a new career in another field and the more I earn the quicker my new business can get off the ground and the sooner I can write that elusive resignation letter.
    Any advice from anyone who has been in a similar position? Is it possible to stick it out for a few years when there's light at the end of the tunnel?
    Thanks